Tibor Varga Competition

Anna Egholm has been awarded 1st prize at the 52nd edition of the Tibor Varga international violin competition.

The competition, dedicated to international musicians under the age of 26, is part of the World Federation of International Music Competitions. It was founded by Hungarian violinist Tibor Varga, whom the competition is named after, and takes place every two years in Sion, Switzerland, as part of the Sion Festival de Musique.

This year’s jury consisted of Georges Starobinski (chair), Pavel Vernikov, Qian Zhou, Krzysztof Wegrzyn, David Takeno, Gilbert Varga, and Eva Zurbrügg.

Anna also won the Tibor Varga prize, which was given by the latter’s son Gilbert Varga for the best interpretation of the compulsory contemporary piece (Heinz Holliger’s Ri-Tratto, 2011).

More information: